Jump to content Jump to menu Jump to content

About us

ACPUA is the official agency for the evaluation of higher education in the region of Aragon (Spain). It was set up in 2005 by Law of the regional Parliament.  Its legal status is that of an autonomous body (public law entity), with own legal personality and its own assets and capacity to attain its objects. It performs its functions objectively, impartially and independently, recognised and guaranteed by law. It is governed by its own bylaws, approved in 2006 (Decree 239/2006, of 4 December).  

ACPUA is a full member, together with ANECA and the rest of Spanish agencies, of the Spanish Network of University Quality Agencies (REACU). ACPUA is a full member of ENQA (European Association for Quality Assurance in Higher Education) and is registered in EQAR. ACPUA is a member of the national Commission for the regulation of the accreditation of university studies (CURSA). And, among other networks, it also forms part of the ministerial commission that develops the Integrated Information University System (SIIU).

We should take into account that not all the autonomous communities have their own Quality Agencies. Just Andalusia , Aragon, Balearic Islands, Canary Islands, Castilla and Leon, Catalonia, Valencia, Galicia, Madrid and the Basque Country. The rest of the communities depend on ANECA (The National Agency for Quality Assessment and Accreditation of Spain).

This been said, we can state that ACPUA is an added value to The Aragon University System, being the entity that functions in line with with ANECA but that has perfect knowledge of The Aragon University System and therefore it makes it easier to be aware of upcoming problems and difficulties that may arise as well as their solution.

This aspect takes special importance to the follow up and accreditation renewal of the degrees adapted to the Bologna Process, an issue that the Spanish Law grants full powers or delegates to the Quality Agencies of the specific Community. In the other hand the LOSUA, the Organic University Law of Aragon, that was passed in 2005, grants the ACPUA full power to assess the demands, proposals of new degrees drawn up by the universities of Aragon and should elaborate a report to the entity in charge of is final authorization, The Government of Aragon.

View ACPUA's Mission, vision and values

View ACPUA's Activities and Charter of Servicios

Aragon and its university system

Aragon, an ancient and important Reign with a long university tradition which dates as far back as the Renaissance, is today an Autonomous Community of Spain which has extensive regional competences in the field of education and university quality.

The region has 1,349,467 inhabitants, a per capita GDP of €25,540 (above the Spanish average and that of the EU27) and has an exceptional geostrategic position within Spain, as it is located in the intersection of the double axis of development and wealth of Madrid, Catalonia, the Basque Country and Valencia. It also has a long border with France, which favours the cultural and economic osmosis with the regions of Aquitaine and Midi-Pyrénées.
Higher education in Aragon is imparted on-campus in two universities: one public (the University of Zaragoza) and the other private (University of San Jorge), and also has in the area several important headquarters of the National University of Distance Education (UNED). The University of Zaragoza is one of the largest, oldest and most prestigious universities in Spain and currently has 66 degrees, 48 masters, 42 doctorates, 31,196 students, 3,648 teachers and researchers and 1,957 staff. The University of San Jorge, young and growing, has 11 degrees, 9 masters, 2 doctorates, 1,501 students, 212 teachers and researchers and 86 staff.

In the past years, the level of economic and social development achieved and the teaching and research excellence attained have contributed to the official recognition of a Campus of International Excellence, named Campus Iberus and formed by the University of Zaragoza and the non-Aragon universities of La Rioja, the Public University of Navarra, and the University of Lleida, all of them located in the strategic corridor of the Ebro valley, generator of intellectual and cultural links and synergies for centuries.

European Regional Development Fund (FEDER)
© Gobierno de Aragón.. All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy Legal Notice

Pignatelli Building. P°María Agustín, 36. 50071 - Zaragoza. Tfno. 976 714 000
Government of Aragon